Beat the Heat

beautiful-sunrise

Last week was scorching hot! I got about five times tanner just by sitting in the sun at lunch. The heat was so horrible that it drained my energy and I couldn’t think or even move a finger! However, on Thursday, I had no choice but to work outside in the heat. Let’s just say that this was not the best experience.

As I have mentioned in a few of my previous posts, a group of my friends and I have been working on a project where our goal was to put recycling bins on our school’s campus and use the proceeds to benefit our graduating class.The process to get everything approved took longer than expected, so we were finally able to put permanent, plastic recycling bins around our school this past week. It just so happened that we decided to put the bins out on Thursday, the hottest day of the week, because it was the day that the most people were available to help. We couldn’t afford to wait another week to put out the bins since school ends in a less than a month. My friends and I decided that we needed to suck it up and do what needed to be done.

flower

So, my friends and I were outside in the blazing heat, with barely anybody else outside because it was so hot. We trudged along trying to finish our task when randomly, a custodian came out of nowhere and walked right up to us. (I think that he could tell by our faces that we were annoyed of the heat and were not in the best moods.) “Repeat the word that I tell you except add the letter ‘B’ to the beginning of the word,” he said.

Him: “Rain.”

Us: “Brain.”

Him: “Lock”

Us: “Block.”

Him: “Right.”

Us: “Bright.”

Him: “Ear”

Us: “Beer.”

Him: “Nope. It would be bear!  :)”

Us: “OHHHH! That’s a good one!”

This simple riddle put a very much needed smile on our faces and made our moods change completely. We were now determined to get these bins done and not let the heat or anything else slow us down. The custodian inspired us to have a positive attitude even in the tough times. I would like to thank him for helping us complete our task but, I would especially like to thank him for giving me a  free facelift! 🙂

-Kimberly

Leave a Reply

