My comrades

comrades

“They are more to me than life, these voices, they are more than motherliness and more than fear; they are the strongest, most comforting thing there is anywhere: they are the voices of my comrades. I am no longer a shuddering speck of existence, alone in the darkness;-I belong to them and they to me; we all share the same fear and the same life, we are nearer than lovers, in a simpler, harder way; I could bury my face in them, in these voices, these words that have saved me and will stand by me.”

The men that fought in World War I faced many hardships. However, the one thing that comforted them and helped them to push through their struggles was their strong relationship with the other soldiers, their comrades. In this excerpt from All Quiet on the Western Front, the narrator, Paul, explains how his relationship with his comrades is hard to explain. It is as if there are no words to describe their special relationship and their love for each other. I have a group of comrades like this in my life and like Paul, I don’t know what I would do without them.

church family

My group of comrades is my church family. We have a special bond that words cannot describe. Every Friday, I have fellowship or youth group. This is what helps me to get through the week. Everyday I tell myself, “Just look forward to Friday. You are almost there.” My church family is always there for me, and I know that I can tell them about anything, and I will receive their prayers and support. When I am with them, I feel this sense of comfort and joy, even if I am going through a difficult time. I know that each one of them cares for me as much as I care for each one of them, and our strong  bond will never separate. We will always be brothers and sisters in Christ.

I hope that each and every person has a group of comrades in their life, whether it be your family, classmates, co-workers, or best friends. But, if you have not found your comrades yet, don’t worry.  Just be patient and know that you will find them, and when you do, I hope you experience the same feelings of happiness and comfort that I feel when I am with my comrades.

– Kimberly

6 thoughts on “My comrades

  1. Kimberly, everything in this post is so well worded, I got chills from reading it. It makes me happy to know that you have found your comrades and have found comfort through them. You have an incentive, and I greatly admire that. I do sincerely hope that one day I will find someone or something that will bring me comfort so I can have something to look forward to every week. -Naomi

Leave a Reply

