My last words…

my last words

“I will never say anything that couldn’t stand as the last thing I will ever say.”

My English teacher showed our class a Ted Talk video featuring Benjamin Zander. At the end of this video, Zander ended by telling a story about a fifteen year old girl that survived Auschwitz. She and her eight year old brother were on a train to Auschwitz, their parents lost, and her brother wasn’t wearing any shoes. Being a typical older sister, she yelled at her brother and asked him where his shoes were. Unfortunately, that was the last thing that she ever said to her brother. He didn’t survive.¬†After being released from the concentration camp, she made a vow and said, “I will never say anything that couldn’t stand as the last thing I will ever say.”

taste 2

Words are powerful. Words can impact and change someone’s entire life, either in a positive or a negative way. I know that it will not be easy, but I challenge you to make the same vow as the young girl in the story. Think before you speak, and say only encouraging, loving, and uplifting words. Choose your words as if they are the last words that that person will ever hear and as if they are the last words that you will ever say.

– Kimberly

Leave a Reply

