Not ONLY a Girl

This twelve year old girl is truly amazing and such an inspiration to me and many others. I love how she had an idea and worked hard to make it into a reality. She didn’t let her young age or anybody else get in the way of accomplishing her goal. She made a huge difference in other people’s lives.

I think that many people feel underestimated because of their age, gender, or abilities. Many times, I think that I am too young to make a difference. I think to myself, “how can someone as young as me possibly make an impact in someone’s life?” However, Alanna Wall proves that nothing can get in the way of stopping your goals and dreams. If you have a goal and you set your mind to it, you can accomplish anything no matter who you are. Whether you are young or old, or a male or female, nothing is ever impossible.

nothing is impossible

Making a difference in someone’s life doesn’t always have to be big. Small actions can make bigger impacts than you can even imagine. In the book Oedipus at Colonus, Oedipus’ daughter Antigone has been there for him and has provided the blind man with everything he needs. When Creon confronts Oedipus and tries to convince Oedipus to return to Thebes, he tells Oedipus that he has “only a girl” to serve his needs. Only a girl? Antigone is not only a girl. She is a girl that has cared for her father and has given him everything. Even though watching over her father may not have seemed like a big deal, it was a big deal to Oedipus because it showed him that someone loves him. It made a huge impact in his life.

Both Alanna and Antigone remind me that I may be young, and I may be a girl, but I don’t have to be ONLY a girl.

– Kimberly

Leave a Reply

