Little Things with a Big Impact

I came across this video a few weeks ago and it really touched me. This video is a short documentary about a mom and her family who started a hair blog and it eventually grew into a hair tutorial channel on YouTube.

In the video, the dad of the family mentioned that one time, he stepped in front of the camera, and introduced daddy ‘dos, simple hairstyles that dads can do on their daughters. The family later got a letter from a dad saying that he tried one of the daddy ‘dos and he was able to give a part of his life back to his daughter, since her mom had died three years ago. The family also got other letters from moms saying that they could never afford to buy the clothes that other girls had but these hairstyles have given them a way to make their daughters feel more confident about themselves and have helped them interact with others. This video made me realize that little things, such as simple hairstyles, can really make a huge impact on other people’s lives and change the way that they think about themselves. The other day, I was having a really bad day and I was very down on myself. The next thing I knew, a girl that I barely talk to came up to me and asked how I was doing. These few simple words really brightened up my day and made me feel like someone cared about me. I told her how I was feeling and she listened to my every word. The next day, she even checked back with me and asked if I was feeling better. If all of us did a simple and easy act every day, like opening the door for someone or even smiling at a stranger, we can change someone’s life.   One action can start a chain reaction.

-Kimberly

Leave a Reply

